School Logo

Draycott and Rodney Stoke Church of England First School

Skylark Class (Early Years Unit)



   Class Overview


Age GroupClass Size




Mrs Emily Bradley                             Miss Hannah Dunmall                     Mrs Becki Stafford               Miss Charlize Kirk

Early Years Practitioner                 Early Years Class Teacher           Early Years Class Teacher          Early Years Apprentice


Mrs Zoe Amey

Teaching Assistant


Our Early Years Unit

Our Early Years Unit at Draycott and Rodney Stoke First School offers high quality provision for children between the ages of three and five (typical called 'preschool' and the 'reception' year). We take children from the term they turn three; giving them an excellent introduction to school life. This preparatory step enables a seamless transition into our reception year.

We are fortunate to have a lovely classroom space that benefits from free flow access to an outside area, with additional access to wider green spaces within the school grounds. The classroom interior has the additional benefit of having its own kitchen and 'Rainbow Room'. This can be a quiet reflective space where children may be focused on learning or may be simply used as a place of calm.

We have developed a learning environment that promotes creative discovery while encouraging successful interactions and communication. We provide a range of quality resources and natural materials in a space that does not overwhelm. This allows opportunities for children to explore the variety of tools and resources available to them, enabling them to communicate through a range of means. Learning is scaffolded by a highly qualified and experienced early years team, where children become happy, confident and independent learners. 

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.


What are the areas of learning and development?


The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

EYFS Guide for families

Our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

Online tools parents will need...