School Logo

Draycott and Rodney Stoke Church of England First School

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum 


What is the EYFS? 


The EYFS sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old, which at our school is called Skylark Class. It is a very exciting time in a child’s life! 


What do we mean by ‘curriculum’? 


The curriculum consists of everything we want children to experience, develop attitudes towards, learn and be able to do during their time in Skylark Class from the moment they start. Our curriculum… 


  • provides an overview of everything we want the children to learn (including new words and knowledge) 

  • helps every child to develop their language. 

  • has high aspirations and supports all children to be successful.  

  • is careful sequenced so children build their learning over time, but allows us to be flexible as young children do not develop in a fixed way.  

  • is often driven by children’s interests.  

  • introduces children to new ideas and themes. 

  • carefully includes new experiences such places we visit and people who visit us.  


What are the foundations of our curriculum? 


Our curriculum is built on our school values, but two in particular are key to young children’s success.  



‘Clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience (Colossians 3.12) 



‘Do to others as you would have them do to you.’ (Matthew 7.12) 


It is through the foundations of kindness and respect that we ensure children feel safe and secure. That’s why every child has a key person, in Skylark Class, who takes the lead on their care. Children become more independent when they have secure relationships to fall back. From the starting point of secure relationships, we built our curriculum.