School Logo

Draycott and Rodney Stoke CE First School

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Aims of Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


The Curriculum

The Foundation Stage curriculum uses objective led planning to develop the whole child.

Topics vary throughout the year and are developed from quality texts, current themes and children’s interests.

There are 7 areas of learning within the Foundation Stage curriculum and these are all of equal importance.

The Prime Areas

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development


Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive design


These areas are underpinned by the following principles:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Active learning
  • Creating and thinking critically



We continually assess the children’s learning through observations. These are documented as individual learning journeys for each child, through educational software called ‘Tapestry’. These online journals allow parents to follow and contribute to their child’s progress throughout their time in the Foundation Stage.